Anwar Ibrahim


1. Name: Anwar Ibrahim, Dato’ Seri

2. Occupation: Politician

3. Date and place of birth: August 10, 1947, Cherok Tok Kun, Bukit Mertajam, Penang

4. Education:

  1. B.A. (Hons) Malay Studies, Universiti Malaya (UM) ( 1967-1971)
  2. Malay College Kuala Kangsar (MCKK) (1960-1966)
  3. Stowell School
  4. Sekolah Kebangsaan Cherok Tok Kun


5. Contributions:

  1. Penang (PKR) Member of Parliament (MP) for Permatang Pauh
  2. Advisor, Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) (since 1998)
  3. Opposition Leader of Malaysia
  4. Economic Advisor to the Selangor State Government (2009)
  5. Board of trustees of the International Crisis Group (ICG) (2006)
  6. Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia (DPM) (1993-1998)
  7. Minister of Finance (1991), Minister of Education (1986), Minister of Agriculture (1984), Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports (1983), Deputy Minister, Prime Minister’s Department (1982)
  8. Deputy Chairman, National Economic Action Council (NEAC) (1998)
  9. Chairman, the World Bank/International Monetary Fund Development Committee for a two-year term (1998)
  10. Chairman, Majlis Yayasan Karyawan (responsible for managing and overseeing the re-publication of great local and international Malay literature) (1996)
  11. Deputy President, National Telecommunications Council (1996)
  12. Deputy Chairman, National Information Technology Council (NITC) (1995)
  13. Chairman, Cabinet Committee on Foreign Workers (1993)
  14. Chairman, Cabinet Committee to handle all matters related to the collapse of Highland Towers Apartment Block in Hulu Kelang (1993)
  15. Chairman, Special Cabinet Committee to check malpractices in government (1988)
  16. President, International Islamic University (IIUM) (1988-1999)
  17. Chairman, Cabinet Committee on Bakun Hydro-electricity Project
  18. Head, Cabinet Committee on Unemployed Graduates
  19. Founder/Patron, Yayasan Salam (set up in November 1996)
  20. Executive Board member, UNESCO (representing the Asia/Pacific region) (1987-1990)
  21. President, Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Conference (SEAMEC) (1989)
  22. President, UNESCO General Conference (1989)
  23. Executive Board member, UNESCO (representing the Asia/Pacific region) (1987-1990)
  24. Board of Trustees, Intellectual Studies Foundation (1987)
  25. Committee member, World Council of Mosques (1987)
  26. Member, Southeast Asian Minister of Education Council (1986)
  27. Chairman, Selection Panel for the National Literary Awards (1987)
  28. President, Malaysian Islamic Youth Movement (ABIM) (1974)
  29. President, Malaysian Youth Council (1972-1976)
  30. Board member, Federal Land Consolidation and Rehabilitation Authority (FELCRA) (1971-1974)
  31. Founder, Malaysian Islamic Youth Movement (ABIM) (1971)
  32. Secretary-General, Malaysian Youth Council (MYC) (1970-1972)
  33. President, Malay Language Society, Universiti Malaya (PBMUM) (1968-1969)
  34. Author, Asian Renaissance, Menangani Perubahan (Managing Change)


6. Honours and Awards:

  1. Honorary Doctorate in Philosophy – United Kingdom-based International Management Centre (IMC) Multinational (third Malaysian to receive it) (1992)
  2. Doctorate in Humanities, Honoris Causa, Mindanao State University, Philippines (in recognition of his dynamic role in contemporary national politics and consistent advocacy of the welfare of youth, especially in education) (1988)
  3. Seri Setia Tuanku Syed Putra Jamalullail (SSPJ) which carries the title “Dato’ Seri DiRaja” – Perlis State Government (1995)
  4. Darjah Datuk Seri Paduka Cura Simanja Kini (SPCM) which carries the title “Dato’ Seri” – Perak State Government (1995)
  5. Seri Panglima Darjah Kinabalu (SPDK) which carries the title “Datuk Seri Panglima” – Sabah State Government (1994)
  6. Darjah Seri Utama Negeri Sembilan (SPNS) which carries the title “Dato Seri Utama” – Negeri Sembilan State Government (1994)
  7. Darjah Yang Utama Pangkuan Negri (DUPN) which carries the title “Dato’ Seri” – Pulau Pinang State Government (1994)
  8. Darjah Kebesaran Seri Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah Kelas Pertama (SSSA) which carries the title “Dato’ ” – Selangor State Government (1992)
  9. Darjah Gemilang Seri Melaka (DGSM) which carries the title “Datuk Seri” – Melaka State Government (1991)
  10. Darjah Yang Mulia Pangkuan Negeri (DMPN) which carries the title “Dato” – Pulau Pinang State Government (1991)
  11. Darjah Sri Sultan Ahmad Shah Pahang (SSAP) which carries the title “Dato Seri” – Pahang State Government (1990)
  12. Order of Rizal with the rank of Knight Grand Cross of Rizal which carries the title “Sir” (conferred the award in conjunction with the International Conference on the Centennial of the 1896 Philippine Revolution) (1996)
  13. Finance Minister of the Year for 1996 Asia Money magazine at the 29th Asian Development meeting (1996)
  14. The President’s Medal – Georgetown University for outstanding service and dedication in spreading knowledge and peace, especially in South-East Asia (1994)
  15. One of the top four Finance Ministers of the Year – Euromoney magazine (1993)
  16. Gold Medal Award – UNESCO (1991)
  17. Reader of the Year 1988 – National Book Development Council (1988)
  18. Malaysian of the Year, 1982
  19. Allama Iqbal Centenary Medal – Pakistan (1979)




Leave a Reply

by Bliss Drive Review