Ahmad Mustaffa Babjee

f_12AhmadMustaffa1. Name: Ahmad Mustaffa Babjee, Tan Sri Dato’ Dr.

2. Occupation: Conservationist, Veterinary specialist

3. Date of birth: July 31, 1937

4. Education:

  1. Ph.D, University of Queensland, Australia (1972)
  2. Masters of Science in Environmental Biology and Pharmacy, Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) (2006)
  3. Masters degree in Veterinary Science, Royal Veterinary College, London (1964)
  4. Bachelor of Science (Animal Husbandry), University of Punjab, Lahore, Pakistan (1960)
  5. Methodist Boys School, Penang (1953)
  6. Anglo-Chinese School, Penang (1947)
  7. Sekolah Sultan Ibrahim, Sungai Petani (1946)


5. Contributions:

  1. President, Paris based World Association for Animal Help (OIE)
  2. Vice-President of Asia Pacific & Far East Commission and World Association for Animal Help (OIE)
  3. Permanent Member of Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons
  4. Life Member of the Malaysian Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals
  5. Fellow of Science Malaysia (2009)
  6. Chairman of Benta Plantations Berhad (1994), Blenheim Exhibitions (M) Sdn Bhd, AMB Exhibitions Sdn Bhd, Mekar Idaman Sdn Bhd, Director of Best World Land Bhd, Executive Chairman of TecnoChannel, Chairman and Director of Chareon Pokphand Feedmills Sdn Bhd
  7. Director-General, Department of Veterinary Services (1984)
  8. Assistant Director-General (Production), Department of Veterinary Services (1979-1983)
  9. Director of Planning and Development, Department of Veterinary Services (1977-1979)
  10. Director of Fisheries Division, Department of Veterinary Services (1977)
  11. Associate Professor, Universiti Pertanian Malaysia (UPM) (1973-1977)
  12. Researcher, University of Queensland (1972-1973)
  13. Director of State, Veterinary Department, Terengganu (1968-1969)
  14. Veterinary Officer, Veterinary Department, Ministry of Agriculture (1965-1968)
  15. Veterinarian, Private Practice in Burnley and Liverpool (1964-1965)
  16. Assistant Veterinary Officer, Alor Setar, Kedah (1960-1961)


6. Honours and Awards:

  1. Honorary Doctorate of Science, Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) (2002)
  2. Honorary Doctorate of Economics by University of Queensland (1994)
  3. Panglima Setia Mahkota (PSM) (1993)
  4. Johan Mangku  Negara (JMN) (1989)
  5. Setia Mahkota Terengganu (SMT) (1981) by Terengganu State Government
  6. Kesatria Mangku Negara (KMN) (1980)
  7. Pingat Jasa Kebaktian (PJK) (1969)


Leave a Reply

by Bliss Drive Review